English Spanish Italiano Rusian

Facebook   youtube   twitter UUN    Rotschild

  • What are the less developed countries?

    Today, there are 49 countries with more than 600 million inhabitants, each one qualified by the United Nations Organization (UN) as a less advanced country (LAC), but better known as less developed countries (LDC).
    Every three years the list of less developed countries(LDC) or less advanced countries (LAC) is revised by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) measured by the following criteria: Low income, measured by the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita; weak human resources, measured by a composite index (Increased physical Quality of Life Index), based on indicators of life expectancy at birth, calorie consumption per capita, combined registration for primary and secondary schools and adult literacy; and low level of economic diversification, measured by the composite index (Economic Diversification Index), based on the manufacturing section in the GDP, the proportion of the population active in industry, the annual commercial energy consumption per capita and the index of the concentration of merchandise exportation of the UNCTAD (United Nations Conference of Trade and Development).
    A country will be included in the list of less developed countries (LDC) or less advanced countries (LAC) if it complies with all three criteria of the limits for inclusion. On the other hand, if a country complies with two out of three of the criteria for the limits of exclusion, it can be authorized to be excluded from the list. A low income figures at 800 dollars or less per capita.
    The efforts made between 1960 and 1990 resulted in the identification of a category of the poorest and structurally weaker countries, that is, not included as less developed countries (LDC) or less advanced countries (LAC), and the acceptance by the international community of these poorest and structurally weaker countries, for example Haiti, Somalia, Sudan, Ethiopia, Solomon Islands and others, deserve special and concrete attention.

    Created on 21/05/2013 in FAQ

© 2017 UNREPRESENTED UNITED NATIONS (UUN) – All Rights Reserved - Rss

Customer attention